Early Education and Care Compensation Reform:

In October 2009, Bessie Tartt Wilson Initiative for Children released “The State of the Early Education Workforce: Removing Barriers to Access and Advancement.” Since its release, BTWIC has focused on the advocacy work that accompanies the recommendations in the report, with a concentration on the area of compensation. Despite the economic troubles the state faces, the issues of fair compensation for early childhood educators and streamlined and efficient state spending should not be put on hold.


This ideal is the impetus for creating a task force to analyze state spending on early education. The Task Force, which met from January 2010 to June 2010, emerged with a clear list of recommendations for state and federal legislative bodies.


The recommendations formed a comprehensive blueprint for early education compensation in Massachusetts, “The Blueprint for Early Education Compensation Reform,” which was released on September 14, 2010.


Task Force Members:

  • Dr. Valora Washington, President, CAYL Institute, Task Force Facilitator
  • Anne W. Mitchell, President, Early Childhood Policy Research, Task Force Consultant
  • Thomas Clarke, Lead Organizer, Massachusetts Early Childhood Educators United
  • John Gardiner, Executive Director, Worcester Comprehensive Child Care Services
  • Rosemary Hernandez, Program Manager, Developing Early Childhood Educators, Regional Employment Board of Hampden County
  • Clement James, Chief Financial Officer, Associated Early Education and Care
  • Dr. Sherri Killins, Commissioner, Massachusetts Department of Early Education and Care
  • Ronald Marlow, Assistant Secretary, Access & Opportunity, Executive Office for Administration & Finance
  • Zora Radosevich, Ready Educators Manager, Thrive in 5 Boston
  • Charles Rizzo, Chief Financial Officer, John Hancock Financial Services
  • Yvette Rodriguez, Director, Head Start and Children’s Services, Action for Boston Community Development
  • Marta Rosa, Senior Director, Government Affairs, Wheelock College
  • Sharon Scott-Chandler, Executive Vice President, Action for Boston Community Development
  • Jessica Smith, Deputy Director, American Federation of Teachers
  • Nancy Snyder, President and CEO, Commonwealth Corporation
  • Peg Sprague, Vice President, United Way of Massachusetts Bay & Merrimack Valley
  • Ronia Stewart, Manager, Dudley Branch, Citizens Bank